Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jacob Fred Jazz Orchestra to Begin Touring

The jazz, indie rock, experimental electronic and classic pop influenced band, the Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey will begin touring North America and abroad this fall to promote their latest album, The Sameness of Difference, released Oct. 11. Switching gears from 2004’s Walking with Giants, this 13-track collection, produced by Joel Dorn again features the band’s three musicians, keyboardist Brian Haas, bassist Reed Mathis and Jason Smart on drums. Their album delves into the group’s musical influences, reinventing works by Brian Wilson (“Wonderful”), Bjork (“Isobel”), the Flaming Lips (“The Spark That Bled”), Neil Young (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down”) and Charles Mingus (“Fables of Faubus”), among others. In addition, the band included some of their own compositions including the acoustic “Santiago” and the frenzied “Halliburton Breakdown.”

Tour dates are as follows:

  • Nov. 2, 3 New York, N.Y., Tonic
  • Nov. 5 Tampere, Finland, Old Customs House Hall
  • Nov. 10 Ithaca, N.Y., Castaways
  • Nov. 11 Manchester, Conn., Main Pub
  • Nov. 12 Newmarket, N.H., The Stone Church
  • Nov. 13 Burlington, Vt., Higher Ground
  • Nov. 14 Montreal, Quebec, Le Swimming
  • Nov. 15 Hamilton, Ontario, Pepper Jacks
  • Nov. 17 Milwaukee, Wisc., Onopa Pub
  • Nov. 18 Madison, Wisc., University of Wisconsin Rathskeller
  • Nov. 19 Chicago, Ill., Subterranean
  • Nov. 27 Tulsa, Okla., Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame
  • Nov. 28 Fayetteville, Ark., George’s
  • Nov. 29 Norman, Okla., The Deli
  • Nov. 30 Dallas, Texas, Gypsy Tea Room
  • Dec. 1 Houston, Texas, The Warehouse
  • Dec. 2 Austin, Texas, Stubbs
  • Dec. 3 Denton, Texas, Haileys

For more information about the Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey, visit

Originally Published