Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jaco Pastorius Big Band to Release Sophomore Album

While Jaco Pastorius died nearly 20 years ago, his legend and memory is as strong as ever. Heads Up will release the second album by the Jaco Pastorius Big Band, The Word Is Out, on March 28, the follow-up to 2003’s acclaimed Word of Mouth Revisited.

The Word Is Out will feature many of the same guest bassists as the band’s debut album, including Victor Wooten, Gerald Veasley, Jimmy Haslip and Richard Bona. Other musicians featured on the album include Randy Brecker, Mark Egan, Peter Erskine, Israel “Cachao” Lopez, Bob Mintzer, Arturo Sandoval and Toots Thielemans. Frequent JazzTimes contributor Bill Milkowski also wrote the liner notes for the album.

Here is a full tracklist:

  1. Dania
  2. Las Olas
  3. Sirabhorn
  4. Beaver Patrol
  5. Cannonball
  6. Kuru/Speak Like a Child
  7. Three Views of a Secret
  8. Blackbird/Word of Mouth
  9. Good Morning Anya
  10. River People
  11. Reza
Originally Published