Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

IAJE 29th Conference Opens; Awards Awards

The International Association of Jazz Educators (IAJE) opened its 29th annual convention last night by giving out awards to anyone who passed through its doors. OK, that’s an exaggeration, but the IAJE is in an award-happy mood, perhaps because this year’s convention is being held in sunny Long Beach, Calif.

At Wednesday night’s 2nd Annual IAJE Gala Dinner, vocalist and mistress of ceremonies Nancy Wilson helped honor the legendary Quincy Jones (pictured left) with the IAJE’s President’s Award, and pianist and U.S.C. educator Shelly Berg was given the Lawrence Berk Leadership Award.

Others to be given awards during IAJE include Joe Zawinul, who will be honored with the first 2002 EJFO International Jazz Award, given by IAJE and the European Jazz Festival Organization, and Dave Brubeck, who was elected to the jazz educators hall of fame. Also, Frank Foster, Percy Heath and McCoy Tyner will be honored during the IAJE conference as recipients of the National Endowment for the Arts 2002 “American Jazz Masters” award.

Originally Published