Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Haden and His Liberation Orchestra to Release New Album

Since 1968, Charlie Haden has used his Liberation Orchestra to speak his mind, both musically and politically. He continues this tradition on the upcoming Verve release Not in Our Name (out on Aug. 30), which he says he wrote a political manifesto for Americans and people around the world who disagree with the ways in which the current government is conducting domestic and international affairs.

The album’s tracks are primarily by American composers (with the exception of a piece by Czech composer Antonin Dvorak), which Haden said is because he felt it necessary to play pieces by American composers to show that you can protest and be patriotic at the same time.

The album was primarily arranged by Carla Bley and was conducted and co-produced by Haden and his wife Ruth Cameron. In addition to bassist Haden and pianist Bley, the orchestra is comprised of Chris Cheek and Tony Malby on tenor saxophone; Miguel Zenon on alto saxophone; Michael Rodriguez and Seneca Black on trumpet; Curtis Fowlkes on trombone; Ahnee Sharon Freeman on French horn; Joe Daly on tuba; Steve Cardenas on guitar; and Matt Wilson on drums.

The full track list is as follows:

“Not in Our Name” Charlie Haden

“This Is Not America” Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, David Bowie

“Blue Anthem” Carla Bley

“America the Beautiful” medley

“Amazing Grace” Traditional

“Goin’ Home” (from Largo of the New World Symphony) Antonin Dvorak

“Throughout” Bill Frisell

“Adagio” (from Adagio for Strings) Samuel Barber

Originally Published