Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Gilberto’s Big in Japan

Verve released In Tokyo, a new live recording from Brazilian bossa-nova legend Joao Gilberto (pictured), yesterday. The album documents Gilberto’s first-ever performances in Japan.

In Tokyo features a solo Gilberto, singing and playing guitar. The album features a select few new arrangements and harmonies and is a lot like Gilberto’s 2000 release Joao Voz E Violao. The evening’s performance, which lasts for almost 70 minutes, begins with “Acontece Que Eu Sou Baiano” and concludes with “Aos Pes da Cruz.” Songs by Antonio Carlos Jobim-including “Corcovado,” “Wave,” “Este Seu Olhar” and “Meditacao”-as well as songs by Dorival Caymmi and Newton Mendonca, are featured as part of the performance.

In Tokyo was recorded when Gilberto played four sold-out shows in Tokyo and Yokohama, Japan in September of 2003. The concerts were recorded from the soundboards to DAT tapes for reference only, but Gilberto was so happy with the sound quality and his performance that he decided to release one of the concerts on CD. In Tokyo features Gilberto’s performance at the Tokyo International Forum Hall A on September 12, 2003.

Gilberto is a legendary bossa nova singer, songwriter and guitarist who has heavily influenced Brazilian music and has released numerous acclaimed albums. He frequently worked with saxophonist Stan Getz during the American bossa-nova craze of the 1960s, as well as musicians like Gilberto Gil, Caetano Veloso, Maria Bethania, Gal Costa and Chico Buarque.

In Tokyo track list:

1. Acontece Que Eu Sou Baiano – 2:56

2. Meditação – 5:33

3. Doralice – 3:16

4. Corcovado – 4:32

5. Este Seu Olhar – 4:34

6. Isto Aquí O Que É? – 4:29

7. Wave – 4:36

8. Pra Que Discutir Com Madam? – 6:01

9. Ligia – 5:37

10. Louco – 4:38

11. Bolinha de Papel – 4:08

12. Rosa Morena – 5:35

13. Adeus América – 5:12

14. Preconceito – 3:55

15. Aos Pés da Cruz – 3:56

Originally Published