Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

George Duke: Dukey Treats

George Duke (photo: Bobby Holland)

If you thought George Duke’s trad-jazz In a Mellow Tone was the best thing he’s ever done, Dukey Treats probably isn’t your thing. But if you smile every time Duke’s “Sweet Baby” comes on the radio and shake your skunk rump when Sir Duke launches into “Dukey Stick” at a show, this is your thang. It’s old-school all the way, from the Sly Stone slap-bass funk of “Everyday Hero” and the nod to Parliament-Funkadelic with “A Fonk Tail,” where Duke vamps a synth-distorted Darth Vader-like rap that leads into the boastful come-ons of “Dukey Treats,” à la “Dukey Stick” from way back.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published