Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Former Soft Machine Members Form New Band

To the delight of progressive-rock and jazz-fusion fans, guitarist Allan Holdsworth (pictured), saxophonist/keyboardist Elton Dean, bassist Hugh Hopper and drummer John Marshall-all onetime members of the Soft Machine-have formed Software, a new band that will record as well as tour. This will be the first time all four musicians work together. As their name suggests, the quartet will use some of the Soft Machine’s compositions and themes as jumping off points for musical exploration, but they’ll be no cover band. Software intends to write original music and will focus on sounds and textures of the here and now.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published