Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial


There’s nothing particularly computer-minded or tech-centric on Fattburger’s (Shanachie 5064; 43:23), just plenty of the reliably well executed, sunny grooves that have kept the veteran band popular over the years. The album is dominated by fan-friendly fare like “You’ve Got Mail,” with Hollis Gentry’s sax gently piping over percolating electronic rhythms, and the light R&B of “Same Ole Love.” The band does wander into some unfortunate instances of slap-percussion (“Joy”) and overstuffed keyboard arrangements (“Fender”) which detract from their well-crafted melodies, but there are also some inventive, stretching extras offered. For example, “Nice Bits,” with its darker, spy-theme chordings, gives Mark Hunter’s bass and Evan Marks’ guitar a cool, sparse spotlight. Marks also rocks out across the prickly, busy beat-box texture of “Groove Y2K,” and stretches into more dramatic territory for the swooping “Trail of Tears,” a bassy, tribal textured romp which, like the more traditional Fattburger tunes, still goes down easy.

Originally Published