Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Exploding Star Orchestra: Blinded by the Light

Exploding Star Orchestra

Jazz soloists are always encouraged to tell a story with their playing, but it’s rare to hear an ensemble tell one. The Rob Mazurek-led Exploding Star Orchestra relayed an epic.

We Are All From Somewhere Else, the ensemble’s debut on edgy Chicago indie Thrill Jockey, is the cornetist-composer’s “…little take on how things were created. But also the metaphor for how sound is created and how vision is created.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published