Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Euforia Trio: Euforia

The Euforia Trio is bassist Santi Debriano, guitarist Paul Meyers, and drummer Vanderlei Pereira. The group has Panamanian, American, and Brazilian roots, richly reflected in their Pan American repertoire. The fourteen cuts range from “Xin Xin Swing,” echoing Benny Goodman, to the percussion interlude, “O Baterista nas Americas,” to the Wes Montgomery tune “Caribe.” There’s also several introspective numbers, Horace Silver’s “Peace,” guitarist Meyer’s composition “Pensive,” and the Panamanian folkloric number “Alegria,” with a melancholy mood that defies its title. The musicianship is beautifully balanced and nuanced throughout.

Originally Published