Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Enrico Rava to Win 2002 JAZZPAR Prize

Denmark has announced that flugelhorn player Enrico Rava (pictured left) will take home the 2002 JAZZPAR Prize. The prestigious award was created in 1990 to encourage the creation and appreciation of jazz. Former recipients include Muhal Richard Abrams, Lee Konitz, Roy Haynes, Geri Allen, Jim Hall, Chris Potter and most recently, Marilyn Mazur.

Rava, born in 1939, is known for playing styles from bop to avant-garde. In the past 40 years, Rava has played on more than 90 recordings, leading the band on 25. His past collaborators include guitarist John Abercrombie, classical composer Morton Feldman, and pianists Gil Evans, Carla Bley and Abdullah Ibrahim.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published