Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

ECM to Release Paul Motian Band Album

ECM is set to release Paul Motian’s ninth album as leader for the label Jan. 24. The album, Garden of Eden, was recorded in New York in 2004 and features Chris Cheek and Tony Malaby on saxophones; Jakob Bro, Ben Monder and Steve Cardenas on guitars; and Jerome Harris on bass. Garden of Eden is the first ECM album by the group, formerly known as the Paul Motian Electric Bebop Band and now billed as the Paul Motian Band.

The 14-track album features nine original tracks and performances of songs by Charles Mingus, Jerome Kern, Thelonious Monk and Charlie Parker. Here is the full track listing:

  1. Pithecanthropus Erectus – Charles Mingus
  2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat – Charles Mingus
  3. Etude – Paul Motian
  4. Mesmer – Paul Motian
  5. Mumbo Jumbo – Paul Motian
  6. Desert Dream – Chris Cheek
  7. Balata – Steve Cardenas
  8. Bill – Jerome Kern
  9. Endless – Paul Motian
  10. Prelude 2 Narcissus – Paul Motian
  11. Garden of Eden – Paul Motian
  12. Manhattan Melodrama – Paul Motian
  13. Evidence – Thelonious Monk
  14. Cheryl – Charlie Parker

The Paul Motian Band will launch the album with a week of concerts at New York’s Village Vanguard beginning Jan. 24.

Originally Published