Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Dave Douglas and Louis Sclavis Team on New Quartet CD

Premonition Records recently announced the debut release from a new, nameless quartet that includes trumpeter Dave Douglas (pictured), clarinetist Louis Sclavis, cellist Peggy Lee and drummer Dylan van der Schyff. The record is called Bow River Falls and will see a U.S. release on August 24. Although Douglas and Sclavis have appeared together in concert on numerous occasions, Bow River Falls marks the first time the two have appeared together on record.

Bow River Falls, named for the region in Canada where it was recorded, is a cooperative, leader-less effort. Each of artists contributed compositions, some of which are works from their previous releases. For instance, Sclavis’ “Fete Forraine” appeared on the 2002 ECM release Dans la Nuit, a soundtrack recording for a rediscovered French silent movie. Douglas’ “Woman at Point Zero” originally appeared on Witness, his 2001 Bluebird album. For Douglas, the appearance of previously recorded material on Bow River Falls, “heightens the uniqueness of this meeting.”

Bow River Falls was recorded in the summer of 2003 while the artists participated in the Banff Jazz Workshop. Douglas is artistic director of the program. Lee and Van der Schyff participate in the program regularly. A special grant from the French Consulate brought Sclavis to Canada making the recording of Bow River Falls possible.

Bow River Falls track list:

1. Blinks

2. Bow River Falls

3. Fete Forraine

4. Window

5. Maputo

6. Petals

7. Retracing 2

8. Dernier Regards/Vol

9. Woman at Point Zero

10. Dark Water

11. Paradox

Originally Published