Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Corea Revives Elektric Band

The Chick Corea Elektric Band, last heard on the 1991 album Beneath the Mask (GRP), has reassembled and recorded a new CD, To the Stars, which will be released via Corea’s Stretch label on August 24.

All of the Elektric Band’s original members-saxophonist Eric Marienthal, drummer Dave Weckl, bassist Patitucci, guitarist Frank Gambale, plus Corea (pictured)-are back for To the Stars, an album inspired by L. Ron Hubbard’s science fiction novel of the same name. Hubbard, of course, is the founder of the Church of Scientology, of which Corea has been an outspoken member for years. Hubbard’s novel, originally released as a two-part serial in 1950, will be re-released by Galaxy Press later this summer.

Corea is so totally stoked about this new record.

“Making this album has been the dream of a lifetime come true,” said Corea, who plays both acoustic piano and electronic keyboards on To the Stars. “This project is my favorite recording.”

Marienthal digs it, too, stating that “every tune is amazing.”

To the Stars also features special guest appearances by saxophonist Steve Wilson, percussionist Pernell Saturnino and vocalist Gayle Moran Corea.

A track list follows. Corea will soon tour to promote the release-with stops expected in L.A., New York, Atlanta, Washington, D.C. Boston and San Francisco-but no firm dates have been set.

To the Stars track list:

Check Blast

Port View 1

Mistress Luck-A Portrait

Mistress Luck-The Party

Port View 2

Johnny’s Landing

Port View 3

Alan Corday

Port View 4

Hound of Heaven

Port View 5

The Long Passage

Port View 6

Jocelyn-The Commander

Port View 7

Captain Jocelyn-Tribute by his Crew

Captain Jocelyn-The Pianist

Stretch Records

Originally Published