Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Concord Jazz to Release New Benny Golson Jazztet and Best-Of CDs

Concord Jazz has announced the January 20th debut of Benny Golson’s “new jazztet,” a sextet that revives that group’s three-horn front line along with classic, tight ensemble work and sophisticated sound.

Led by Grammy Lifetime Achievement award-winning saxophonist-composer Benny Golson, this version of the jazztet features trumpeter Eddie Henderson, trombonist Steve Davis, pianist Mike LeDonne, bassist Buster Williams and percussionist Carl Allen.

New Time, New ‘Tet features an implied suite in which Golson joins new compositions inspired by Giuseppi Verdi and Frederic Chopin to a standard jazz repertoire. Tracks include Golson’s classic “Whisper Not” (featuring vocalist Al Jarreau), “Gypsy Jingle-Jangle,” Sonny Rollins’ “Airegin,” “Uptown Afterburn,” “From Dream To Dream,” “Love Me In A Special Way,” “Verdi’s Voice” and “Bronislau Kaper.”

For three years, between 1960 and the end of 1962, the original co-led Benny Golson-Art Farmer Jazztet made seven albums. Golson, who turns 80 January 25th,

will be honored at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., by a star-studded cast that includes Jarreau, the Clayton-Hamilton Big Band and others.

Also on the Golson front, Whisper Not: The Autobiography of Benny Golson, will be published, and the career-spanningThe Best of Benny Golson will be released by Concord Jazz January 20th.

Originally Published