Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

City Rhythm Orchestra with Special Guest Joey De Francesco: Vibrant Tones

Vibrant Tones, by the Philadelphia-based City Rhythm Orchestra, includes a studio CD recorded in 2001 plus a live DVD from 2003. Each features organist Joey DeFrancesco in a major role both as soloist and as a member of the ensemble. The charts, all arranged by Joe Matt, include such jazz tunes as “Senor Blues,” “Billie’s Bounce,” “The Midnight Sun Will Never Set,” “Blues in Hoss’ Flat,” “Whirly Bird,” “Moanin’,” “Turn Me Loose” and “Things Ain’t What They Used To Be” as well as pop tunes like “One Mint Julep,” “The Cat,” “Peter Gunn,” “Walk on the Wild Side” and a few standards. Except for a few substitutions, the repertoire and the band personnel are identical on the CD and DVD.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published