Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

“Bujo” Kevin Jones: Tenth World

Bujo Kevin Jones

Percussionist Bujo Kevin Jones combines the spirit of Africa with modern jazz on his impressive debut as a leader. Produced by drummer Babatunde Lea, Tenth World incorporates the heightened aesthetic of John Coltrane’s classic quartet on the opening “Bodhisattva Wonderful Sound.” Reminiscent of Trane’s treatment of Mongo Santamaria’s “Afro Blue,” this 12/8 vehicle is underscored by George Makinto’s balafon and Jones’ djembe drumming and also features some heightened expressions by pianist Kelvin Sholar, soprano saxophonist Brian Horton and flutist Makinto (who also composed the ode “McCoy’s Joy”). The group explores a Latin-jazz vibe on Sholar’s “Estilo Nuevo” and deals in R&B territory on Sholar’s anthemic “New Nation.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published