Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Brubeck Gets Essential

Tomorrow Columbia/Legacy will release The Essential Dave Brubeck, the latest in its series of double-disc, greatest-hits sets and the second to feature a jazz artist (The Essential Miles Davis was the first).

The 31-track, double-CD set spans Brubeck’s career from 1949 to 2002 and includes six cuts originally recorded for labels other than Columbia. Among the set’s highlights are ten live tracks and four tunes sung by star vocalists Tony Bennett, Louis Armstrong, Jimmy Rushing and Carmen McRae (“That Old Black Magic,” “Summer Song,” “There’ll be Some Changes” and “Travelin’ Blues” respectively). Only one previously unreleased track included: “Bossa Nova U.S.A.,” recorded on Oct. 25, 1962.

For sound clips and more info on the Essential series, check out

Track list:

Disc 1

1. Indiana

2. Perdido (Live)

3. Take The “A” Train (Live)

4. Le Souk (Live)

5. Audrey

6. The Duke (Live)

7. In Your Own Sweet Way

8. Weep No More

9. Some Day My Prince Will Come

10. Tangerine (Live)

11. Brandenburg Gate

12. Three To Get Ready

13. Blue Rondo A La Turk

14. There’ll Be Some Changes Made

Disc 2

1. Take Five

2. Maria

3. It’s A Raggy Waltz

4. Unsquare Dance

5. Kathy’s Waltz (Instrumental)

6. Travelin’ Blues (Live)

7. Summer Song

8. That Old Black Magic

9. Bossa Nova U.S.A.

10. Autumn In Washington Square

11. Theme From “Mr. Broadway”

12. La Paloma Azul (Live)

13. Recuerdo (Live)

14. Caravan (Live)

15. Star Dust

16. Brother, Can You Spare A Dime?

17. Love For Sale (Live)

Originally Published