Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Brecker, Liebman and Lovano Gather for a Summit

On August 18 Telarc will release A Gathering of Spirits, the debut album from the trio of saxophonists Michael Brecker, David Liebman and Joe Lovano, known collectively as Saxophone Summit. The trio is joined on the six-track album by a rhythm section comprised of pianist Phil Markowitz, bassist Cecil McBee and drummer Billy Hart.

Lovano’s “Alexander the Great,” a composition based on the chord changes of “Bye Bye Blackbird,” opens A Gathering of Spirits. Two works by John Coltrane, “India” and “Peace on Earth,” and Brecker’s title track, which is reminiscent of Coltrane’s “The Father, Son, Holy Ghost,” are also featured.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published