Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Bonnie Bramlett: Roots, Blues & Jazz

Bonnie Bramlett

The title of salty survivor Bonnie Bramlett’s latest, her overdue follow-up to 2002’s kickass comeback I’m Still the Same, doesn’t half describe this hell-for-leather collection that corrals a lifetime of influences. Indeed, it should be called Roots, Blues, Jazz, Country, Folk, Rock, Gospel, Soul and Just About Every Other Blasted Thing I’ve Bumped Up Against During a Half-Century of High Times and Hard Knocks.

With a voice like a scuffed, muddy cowboy boot that’s seen more miles than Bramlett would care to admit (the sort of hard-won vox its owner wouldn’t, shouldn’t, trade for a seraphim of sweet-sounding angels), she rips into Stephen Stills’ “Love the One You’re With,” freeing it from its docile moorings and cutting loose with the growling hunger the lyric deserves. She then steers “No Particular Place to Go” in deliciously suggestive directions Chuck Berry never dared travel, adds high-mass purity to the exalted ache of the Everly Brothers’ “Love Hurts,” joyously bursts the seams of “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy” and plumbs the raw yearning of Sam Cooke’s sweat-and-tears-soaked “A Change Is Gonna Come.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published