Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Bluebird’s New Centennial Compilations

The reissue-happy Bluebird label has plans to celebrate the 100th birthdays of Glenn Miller (pictured) and Fats Waller with specially-priced Centennial Collection CDs that will include unreleased material, bonus DVDs, and, in the case of Miller, one of those dance remixes that have become so popular with the kids.

The Miller disc collects 16 of the big band leaders biggest hits from the 30s and 40s, as well as the previously unreleased tracks “King Porter Stomp,” “Beat Me Daddy, Eight to the Bar” and “Moon Love.” The disc’s closing track is a dance remix of the Miller hit “Pennsylvania 6-5000” by DJ Touche of the English electronic group the Wiseguys. The accompanying DVD includes footage of Miller and his bands from films like Sun Valley Serenade and The Glenn Miller Story, as well as performances from Miller’s old TV Time show.

Glenn Miller Centennial Collection track list

1 Moonlight Serenade

2 Chattanooga Choo Choo

3 Juke Box Saturday Night

4 Over the Rainbow

5 Tuxedo Junction

6 In the Mood

7 Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear to Tread)

8 Imagination

9 The Boogie Wooglie Piggy

10 A String of Pearls

11 When You Wish Upon a Star

12 Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (with Anyone Else but Me)

13 Pennsylvania 6-5000

14 Along the Santa Fe Trail

15 Begin the Beguine

16 At Last


18 Beat Me Daddy, Eight to the Bar (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)


20 Pennsylvania 6-5000 Remix

Waller’s Centennial Collection doesn’t include a dance remix, but it does have a previously unreleased track (“If You’re a Viper”) and a rare medley recording Waller made for NBC radio that includes the tunes “Ain’t Misbehavin’,” “Hold My Hand,” “What’s the Matter With You?” and “Hallelujah.” The DVD features Waller performing hits like “Honeysuckle Rose” and “The Joint Is Jumping,” as well as a scene from the 1935 film King of Burlesque in which Waller and his band play in white tuxedos and with white-washed instruments for a group of tap dancers.

1 I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter

2 Got a Bran’ New Suit

3 Your Feets Too Big

4 Medley (NBC On Air Studio Recording)

Ain’t Misbehavin’

Hold My Hand

What’s the Matter with You?


Hold My Hand

5 Spring Cleaning (Getting Ready for Love)

6 African Ripples

7 You’re Not the Only Oyster in the Stew

8 The Joint is Jumpin’

9 Beale Street Blues

10 Numb Fumblin’

11 Fats Waller’s Original E-flat Blues

12 Lulu’s Back in Town

13 Loafin’ Time

14 I Ain’t Got Nobody

15 Carolina Shout

16 (Do You Intend to Put an End to) a Sweet Beginning

17 If You’re a Viper

18 Undecided

19 Then I’ll Be Tired of You

20 Up Jumped You with Love

21 ‘Taint Nobody’s Bizness if I Do

The music on both collections has been remastered in 24-bit sound. Bluebird has plans to release Centennial Collections for Duke Ellington, Artie Shaw, Coleman Hawkins and Benny Goodman later this year.

Originally Published