Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

BBC Jazz Award Winners Announced

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) presented the first annual BBC Jazz Awards at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall on July 31. The ceremony featured performances by all the winners, including a tribute performance to Louis Armstrong for his 100th birthday anniversary, as well as a group performance of Duke Ellington’s “It Don’t Mean A Thing” with Bobby Watson, Alan Barnes, Courtney Pine and Norma Winstone.

The awards were selected by a specially appointed panel comprising 100 of the most influential members of the U.K.’s jazz and media industry. Ellington and Basie trumpeter Clark Terry (pictured left) took home top honors as BBC’s International Jazz Artist of the Year.

The rest of the awards and artists honored are listed below:

Best New Work: Chris Batchelor
Rising Star: Alex Wilson
Jazz Innovation: Iain Ballamy
Best Instrumentalist: Alan Barnes
Best Vocalist: Norma Winstone
Best Album: Jean Toussaint
Services to Jazz: Pete King
International Award: Clark Terry
Best Band: Courtney Pine
Lifetime Achievement: Humphrey Lyttelton

The ceremonies will be broadcast on BBC Radio 2 on Mon., Aug. 6th at 7:00 pm, and on BBC Radio 3’s Jazz Line-Up on Sat., Aug. 11 at 4:00 pm.

Originally Published