Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Barry Romberg’s Random Access Large Ensemble: Existential Detective

Canadian drummer-bandleader Barry Romberg has consistently put out creative, cutting-edge music with his electric Random Access septet featuring violinist Hugh Marsh, guitarist Geoff Young, trumpeter Kevin Turcotte, saxophonists Kirk MacDonald and Kelly Jefferson and Jaco-esque electric bassist Rich Brown. For this special project he’s added eight horns to the group for expansive, Gil Evans-inspired arrangements by trumpeter Jason Logue (the evocative and ferociously swinging “Harfingrinder” and “Village”) and guitarist Young (“Accidental Beef,” “Sly-Fy,” “Hogwalk”). Excellent.

Originally Published