Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

ASCAP/IAJE Commission Pieces to Honor Frank Foster

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), along with the International Association for Jazz Education (IAJE), have commissioned two composers to write pieces honoring saxist-composer-bandleader Frank Foster (pictured).

ASCAP and IAJE award cash grants each year to two individuals in the categories of established jazz composer of international prominence and emerging jazz composer under the age of 35. The grant recipients this year are Tim Hagans in the established jazz composer category and Ayn Inserto in the emerging composer category. Both compositions to honor Foster will debut in January at the 2007 IAJE conference in Toronto.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published