Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

ASCAP to Host Annual Jazz Wall of Fame Ceremony

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers – ASCAP to those in the know – will host its annual ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame ceremony tomorrow evening in New York City. The ceremony will honor three living legends and four new inductees. The 2005 Living Legend honor will go to composer/arranger Neal Hefti, vocalist and pianist Shirley Horn and guitarist John “Bucky” Pizzarelli, while the 2005 Inductees will be trumpeter and composer/arranger Thad Jones, trombonist and vocalist Jack Teagarden, violinist Joe Venuti and pianist/arranger Mary Lou Williams (pictured).

The ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame will also feature the ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award Honorees and the presentation of the ASCAP Vanguard Award to pianist Matthew Shipp.

The event will also be taped for broadcast on BET Jazz, although a date has not yet been announced.

Originally Published