Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

ASCAP Jazz Composer Awards Announced

Recognizing that the world desperately needs more jazz compositions, the ASCAP Foundation, an organization dedicated to aiding the American composer, established an award program earlier this year to encourage young jazz composers to break out the staff paper and write us some tunes. Composers from 12 to 30 years old submitted their musical works to the competition, which was judged by an ASCAP-appointed jury comprised of Cecil Bridgewater (pictured), Maria Schneider and Billy Harper. The winners, listed below, have been awarded cash prizes in undisclosed amounts.

2002 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients:

Quamon Fowler, 22, Ft. Worth, TX; Maxwell Snyder, 25, Mooresville, NC; Sherisse Rogers, 24, Long Island City, NY; Brian Van Arsdale, 23, Roswell, GA; Ben Wendel, 26, Santa Monica, CA ; Greg Reitan, 29, Los Angeles, CA; Ez Weiss, 23, Portland, OR; Maurice Brown, 21, Ashland, IL; Bob Reynolds, 25, Astoria, NY; Javier Arau, 27, Brooklyn, NY; Scott Routenberg, 23, Roswell, GA; Gordon Haab III, 26, Los Angeles, CA; Jeremy Siskind, 16, Irvine, CA; Jeremy Pelt, 26, New York, NY; Nicholas Urie, 17, Santa Ana, CA; and Ross Garren, 17, Carmel, CA

The following composers were recognized with an Honorable Mention:

Dustin Drews, 23, Miami, FL; Miguel Zenon, 25, New York, NY; David

Stansbury, 22, New York, NY; Jason Goldman, 27, Glendale, CA; Mark Lemstrom , 29, Milpitas, CA; Hamilton Hayes, 25, Dallas, TX; Colton Weatherston, 29, Detroit, MI; Irvin Mayfield, 24, New Orleans, LA; Pascal Le Boeuf, 16, Santa Cruz, CA; Michael Mc Mahon Webb, 16, Glen Mills, PA; and Thomas Cole Gardner, 16, Washington, DC

Originally Published