Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Anthony Braxton and Richard Teitelbaum: Silence/Time Zones

Deservedly restored to print, these recordings are central to the respective discographies of Oliver Lake and the longstanding collaboration between Anthony Braxton and Richard Teitelbaum (Silence was first issued on the English Freedom label, but was not part of the important Arista-Freedom series of the mid and late ’70s that included both Time Zones and Heavy Spirits). The combination of Silence and Time Zones on a single disc makes it an especially good buy. All three albums are as invigorating today as they were when first released more than 20 years ago.

Recorded in the heady Paris summer of ’69, Silence is the only album Braxton recorded featuring the ostensibly co-op trio with violinist Leroy Jenkins and trumpeter Leo Smith that did not feature Braxton’s compositions. Jenkins’ “Off The Top Of My Head” is thematically well-grounded, allowing the trio to peel off layers of the lyrical materials in a loose counterpoint, and to propel the piece with the shifting timbres afforded by their arsenal of “little instruments.” Smith’s title piece juxtaposes short sound events and long periods of silence to create a remarkably coherent fabric.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published