Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Andrew Hill Wins Jazzpar Prize, Releases New CD

Pianist and composer Andrew Hill (pictured), who celebrated his 65th birthday on June 30 and who has a new album out today entitled A Beautiful Day (Palmetto), was named the winner of the 14th annual Jazzpar Prize, to be presented in Copenhagen, Denmark at a Gala concert on Apr. 27, 2003.

Hill was chosen as winner from a list five nominees including Seamus Blake, Ellery Eskelin, Wycliffe Gordon and Maria Schneider. Previous Jazzpar Prize winners include Muhal Richard Abrams (1990), David Murray (1991), Tommy Flanagan (1993), Jim Hall (1998) and Chris Potter (2000). This year’s judging committee was an international panel of jazz authorities, including Clim Meyer, Boris Rabinowitsch and Peter H. Larsen (Denmark), Dan Morgernstern (U.S.), Brian Priestley (England), Alex Dutilh (France) and Filippo Bianchi (Italy). The prize, which is awarded by the Danish organization Jazzkontakten, consists of a bronze statuette and a cash award of 200,000 Danish Kroner (approximately $26,500 U.S.).

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published