Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Afro-Beat Star Femi Kuti Announces Summer Tour

Femi Kuti, the oldest son of the legendary Nigerian musician Fela Kuti and a superstar in his own right, will tour the U.S. throughout the month of July and into early August. The tour is in support of a new two-CD retrospective, The Definitive Collection: Femi Kuti (Wrasse).

Like his late father’s, Femi Kuti’s music is a stew of deep funk rhythms, jazz, R&B and indigenous African sounds. And also like Fela, the younger Kuti is activistic in his lyrics, critical of oppressive government, abuse of power and hypocrisy, and supportive of black consciousness and empowerment. He released three albums prior to the new collection: a self-titled debut, Shoki Shoki and Fight to Win.

Tour Dates

2-Jul Monday Summerfest MILWAUKEE

4-Jul Wednesday Comerica City Festival DETROIT

6-Jul Friday Ottawa Blues Festival OTTAWA

7-Jul Saturday Quebec Festival QUEBEC CITY

8-Jul Sunday Paradise BOSTON

11-Jul Wednesday Summerstage NYC

12-Jul Thursday Philadelphia Theater of the Living Arts PHILADELPHIA

13-Jul Friday 9:30 Club WASHINGTON DC

14-Jul Saturday Variety Playhouse ATLANTA

16-Jul Monday Stubb’s AUSTIN

18-Jul Wednesday ORPHEUM FLAGSTAFF

19-Jul Thursday HOB SAN DIEGO

20-Jul Friday House of Blues LOS ANGELES

21-Jul Saturday Fillmore SAN FRANCISCO

22-Jul Sunday Truckee Regional Park TRUCKEE

25-Jul Wednesday Showbox SEATTLE

26-Jul Thursday Commodore Ballroom VANCOUVER

27-Jul Friday Horning’s Hideout PORTLAND

29-Jul Sunday The Depot SALT LAKE CITY

30-Jul Monday Belly Up ASPEN

31-Jul Tuesday Boulder Theater BOULDER

2-Aug Thursday Minneapolis Zoo Amphitheater MINNEAPOLIS

3-Aug Friday Lollapalooza Festival CHICAGO

(Photo c/o Universal Music France)

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published