JALC Asks Fans to Vote for New Jazz Hall of Fame Class

New inductees will be announced next month

Jazz at Lincoln Center is soliciting votes from fans in its annual Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame (NEJHF) induction process. Beginning today, the public can cast votes online for the artists of who have been nominated. Voting will close on February 14, at 11:59 p.m. JALC will announce the 2014 NEJHF class on February 17, 2014 and the new inductees will be celebrated June 9 in a private induction ceremony at JALC's Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola. Viewers can tune in via live webcast at JALC Live.

Betty Carter
Lennie Tristano
By Lee Tanner
Elvin Jones
By Mephisto

1 of 3      Next

The 2014 NEJHF nominees are:

Jimmie Blanton
Betty Carter
Erroll Garner
Fletcher Henderson
James P. Johnson
J.J. Johnson
Elvin Jones
Wes Montgomery
Oscar Pettiford
Lennie Tristano

For voting guidelines see the same page where voting takes place.

The nominees were selected by a JALC-appointed panel which includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Aaron Diehl, Jon Faddis, Vince Giordano, Ethan Iverson, Wynton Marsalis, Renee Rosnes, Dr. Ellen Rowe, Phil Schaap, and Loren Schoenberg.

The top four nominees, determined by the popular vote, will be inducted into the 2014 NEJHF class.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!