Roulette Announces: Wadada Leo Smith’s “Ten Freedom Summers” New York Premier Event

May 01 - May 03, 2013

Brooklyn, NY: Roulette presents the illustrious trumpeter-composer Wadada Leo Smith who will present a complete version of the 5-hour work that stunned the Jazz world last fall: The New York premiere of Ten Freedom Summers, a cycle of compositions about the American civil rights movement.

Ten Freedom Summers is the result of the research and reflection concerning the philosophical, social and political history of the United States of America. Ten Freedom Summers is programmed as three evenings of music, and is composed for Golden Quartet and the Pacifica Coral Reef Ensemble and will feature performances by Golden Quartet, Pacifica Red Coral and Video Artist Jesse Gilbert . On May 3rd, the Flux Quartet will premier The March on Washington D.C., August 28, 1963


Wadada Leo Smith's Golden Quartet

Wadada Leo Smith, trumpet

Anthony Davis, piano

John Lindberg, bass

Pheeroan aKlaff, drums

Pacifica Red Coral

Mark Menzies, violin

Mona Tian, violin

Andrew Macintosh, viola

Ashley Walters, cello

Alison Bjorkedal, harp

Jesse Gilbert, video artist

Flux Quartet

Tom Chiu, violin

Conrad Harris, violin

Max Mendel, viola

Felix Fan, cello

Roulette, 509 Atlantic Avenue

Brooklyn New York 11217

Featured Artists

Wadada Leo Smith

Do you know more details about this event? Add them!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report