Aardvark Jazz To Open 39th Season with New Works by Mark Harvey

Oct 08, 2011 08:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Hailed for “exuberance, imagination, and sheer brio” (Jazz Review), The Aardvark Jazz Orchestra will open its 39th season with a concert called Commemoratives, featuring original compositions by music director Mark Harvey. The program will include Harvey’s piece Blood on the Sun/New Moon Rising (a commemoration of 9/11), and his work Peace Soundings, commemorating the Civil War. In addition, Harvey will offer his own critique of the turmoil in our nation's capital, pairing the rollicking Flat Earth Boogie with a moody blues De-Evolution Blues. The band will also perform Harvey’s extended work No Walls, inspired by Ellington’s belief in moving beyond category in art and life. The concert is sponsored by MIT Music & Theater Arts, part of an Artist in Residence program for the fall semester in conjunction with the course Composing for Jazz Orchestra. Free admission. Information: 617 776 8778.

MIT Killian Hall, 160 Mass Ave

Cambridge MA 02142


Featured Artists

Aardvark Jazz Orchestra

Do you know more details about this event? Add them!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report