Mirrors -Kenny Wheeler,Norma Winstone, & London Vocal Project

New from Edition Records (UK)

An album project which has 11 tracks of sheer beauty and perfection that throws up images of almost religious stature whilst letting you know that this is jazz pure and simple,I hear echoes and harmonies of Claire Fischer but it's far more organic in it's structure.

Stand out tracks for me well that is a hard one but "Black March", "Through The Looking Glass" and 'Breughel" which has a almost sixties feel to it.

The whole album would have sat very comfortably as a sound track to a french film noir .

Congratulations to Pete Churchill (Leader Of The London Vocal Project) and Dave Stapleton (Executive Producer)

01 Humpty Dumpty 5.23
02 the Broken Heart 3.58
03 the Lover Mourns 5.36
04 Black March 7.48
05 Through the Looking Glass 8.59
06 The Hat 3.59
07 Breughel 5.57
08 Tweedledum 8.37
09 the Bereaved Swan 6.16
10 the Deathly Child 8.42
11 My Soul 4.22

Kenny Wheeler flugelhorn
Norma Winstone vocals
London Vocal Project directed by Pete Churchill
Nikki Iles piano
Mark Lockheart saxophones
Steve Watts double bass
James Madden drums

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report

Community Authors

Anthony "Aja" Allsop