Jerker Kluge's Deep Jazz - ' The Meeting '

This is my first contribution from the European perspective on the world of all things Jazzy !

Now comes the long awaited follow up which has already been picked by UK Jazz Presenter Giles Peterson waxing lyrically over his interpretation of Freddie Hubbard's Little Sunflower. My personal take on this tune is that it is an amazing track with the exception of the Concert Harp, which in my opinion waters down the track and I think it almost put's you off from continuing to listen. On saying that it kicks into life in a very beautiful way with some outstanding vocals and very original lyrics.

The other tracks that are getting the support of the radio fraternity are ' No Doubt ' ,a sound is firmly based in the 1960's moving along with a magical pace and some haunting flute, and ' Don't Get Drowned ', a Bossa groove with a bass clarinet & piano magicaly complimenting each along with some beautiful vocals.

I would highly recommend this album, It's for lovers of the sound of Pharoah Sanders & McCoy Tyner with a lemon twist !

Here is the complete album list & Info :
Artist: Deep Jazz
Title: The Meeting
Label: Perfect Toy Records
Cat. No: PT.040 (CD/LP/digital)
Distribution: Broken Silence (Germany/Switzerland/Austria) / Kudos (rest of the world)
Release date: 23rd March 2012
EAN CD: 4250523700109

“The Meeting” will be released on CD, strictly limited Vinyl as well as digital download.

1. Little Sunflower (9:05)
2. The Meeting (6:01)
3. No Doubt (6:00)
4. Movement (6:03)
5. Mystic Sky (8:25)
6. Don´t Get Drowned (4:29)
7. Invisible (6:30)
8. Coincidence of Circumstance (4:24)
9. East & West (5:24)
10. Spirits Up Above (4:57)
11. Autumn Sun (6:19)

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report

Community Authors

Anthony "Aja" Allsop