Half Note Issues A New Release By Randy Brecker, The Jazz Ballad Song Book, Featuring The Danish Radio Big Band And The Danish National Chamber Orchestra

Available in stores and online July 19, 2011!

New York - Half Note Records is pleased to present trumpeter Randy Breckerʼs latest musical venture, a collaboration with the Danish Radio Big Band (DRBB) and the Danish National Chamber Orchestra. This formidable partnership provides a special opportunity for Brecker, actuating what many will consider to be a "career record."

Breckerʼs incomparable contribution to contemporary music spans several decades. The Jazz Ballad Song Book explores the contours of 10 compelling American songs, penned by a cadre of jazzʼs premier arrangers, including Grammy winner Vince Mendoza. The record is both cinematic and intimate, reflecting perfectly the scope of Breckerʼs emotional play.

Evergreen tracks inlcude "Cry Me a River," "All Or Nothing At All," "Someday My Prince Will Come" and "Skylark."

Jeff Levenson, EVP of Half Note Records and long-standing admirer of Brecker, says: "Randy has achieved true emeritus status. He remains a figure who embodies the soul of jazz trumpet. His partnership with the DR Big Band is a perfect marriage, featuring pointed, often wistful, solos measured against hip arrangements, beautifully executed."

For further information on the artist please visit his website at www.randybrecker.com

Track Information:

1. All Or Nothing At All
2. Cry Me A River
3. Someday My Prince Will Come
4. Foregone Conclusion
5. Goldfinger
6. Skylark
7. I Talk To The Trees
8. This Is All I Ask
9. The Immigrant/Godfather
10. Round Midnight

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report

Community Authors

Antje Huebner