Paula Prophet

From Me To You

Alluring and refined, the smooth vocal glides of Paula Prophet are flirty and exude positive vibrations. Her new CD, From Me To You released by Pacific Coast Jazz Records is laden with shades of smooth soul, R&B, blues, and club-imbued jazz. She has a proclivity for making dance tracks whether it is the hip to hip slow sway of “Only You” or the funky/R&B grooves of “Show Me.” The alto pitch of her register holds her words in an iron-clad grip giving audiences the impression that she lives by what she says in her songs making her delivery intense in a most mesmerizing way.

Her vocals are elevating through the finger-snapping beats of “That Man” as she traipses across the bluesy guitar riffs singing, “He really cares about how I feel… That man is so good inside… That man, I just love his vibe.” The sultry curves of Jon Rekevics’ saxophone play off her positive vibe producing a daydreamy aura culled with fleshy tones. Prophet sings with authority. Her vocals have a leisurely swagger while hammering a stake in the ground when she proclaims, “We are one” in the track “Little Bird.” The gospel-tinge of the intonations in the instruments fortifies the conviction in her voice, and the soaring twizzles of the guitar exhibit a spirited character. The nuts and bolts of the track are inspired by a spiritual type of love, while numbers like “Show Me” and “That Man” demonstrate sentiments of physical love.
The melodic patterns of the instruments are well-versed in producing a romantic aroma, and Prophet’s vocals are persuasive at drawing audiences into that inlet of bliss.

Produced by her keyboardist/programmer Marti Arnado, From Me To You wallows in happiness, both of the physical and the spiritual kind

From Me To You, Show, Only You, Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me, That Man, Little Bird

Paula Prophet –vocals, Marti Arnado –keyboards, Tommy Aros – percussion, Derek Cannon – trumpet, James East – bass, Andy Geib – trombone, Justin Grinnell – bass, marc Intravaia – guitars, Paul Kimbarow – drums, Mitch Manker – harmon muted trumpet, Duncan Moore – drums, Allan Phillips – keyboards, John Rekevics – baritone and tenor saxophones, James Studer – organ, and Kenny Turner – background vocals

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!

  • Email E-mail
  • Share Share
  • Rss RSS
  • Report Report

Community Authors

Susan Frances