Wadada Leo Smith to Perform NYC Premiere of 'Ten Freedom Summers'

Ambitious 5-hour Civil Rights work will be performed over three days

On May 1-3, Roulette will present trumpeter-composer Wadada Leo Smith performing the New York premiere of the complete version of the five-hour work Ten Freedom Summers, a cycle of compositions about the American civil rights movement.

Ten Freedom Summers, according to an announcement, "is the result of the research and reflection concerning the philosophical, social and political history of the United States of America. Ten Freedom Summers is programmed as three evenings of music, and is composed for Golden Quartet and the Pacifica Coral Reef Ensemble and will feature performances by Golden Quartet, Pacifica Red Coral and video artist Jesse Gilbert. On May 3rd, the Flux Quartet will premier The March on Washington D.C., August 28, 1963."

Wadada Leo Smith's Golden Quartet
Wadada Leo Smith, trumpet
Anthony Davis, piano
John Lindberg, bass
Pheeroan aKlaff, drums

Pacifica Red Coral
Mark Menzies, violin
Mona Tian, violin
Andrew Macintosh, viola
Ashley Walters, cello
Alison Bjorkedal, harp
Jesse Gilbert, video artist

Flux Quartet
Tom Chiu, violin
Conrad Harris, violin
Max Mendel, viola
Felix Fan, cello

Roulette is located at 509 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, New York

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!