Soul Train Awards Go to Spalding, Bennett, Glasper

Frank Ocean takes Best Album honors

The annual Soul Train Awards were announced on Sunday, with awards in the jazz categories going to Esperanza Spalding, Tony Bennett and Robert Glasper. Spalding won in the category of Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group for her album Radio Music Society while Bennett and Glasper tied for Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group, the former for his Isn't It Romantic and the latter for Black Radio, his recording with the Robert Glasper Experiment. Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange won in the overall Best Album category.

Robert Glasper
By Clay Patrick McBride
Tony Bennett in performance on November 4, 2011 at Academy of Music in Philadelphia
By Ben Johnson
Esperanza Spalding, International Jazz Day, NYC, 4-12
By Jeff Tamarkin

1 of 3      Next

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!