Paul Winter Sextet Music from Early ’60s to Be Released

Set includes performance at the White House

A two-disc collection titled Count Me In 1962-1963, by the Paul Winter Sextet, will be released by Living Music Nov. 6. The release includes 14 previously unreleased tracks and the group’s Nov. 19, 1962 concert at the Kennedy White House, reportedly the first jazz concert held within the building. The other tracks on the set come from performances in Latin America and at Columbia Studios in 1961-1962. The set is produced by Paul Winter and Dixon Van Winkle.


Paul Winter Sextet at the White House, November 1962

Track listing

1. A Bun Dance 3:37 (Norman Simmons)
2. Papa Zimbi 4:26 (Warren Bernhardt)
3. Casa Camara 4:58 (Richard Evans)
4. Them Nasty Hurtin' Blues 3:25 (Richard Evans)
5. Voce e Eu (Only You and I) 2:51 (Vinicius de Moraes, Carlos Lyra)
6. Insensatez (Foolish One) 3:40 (Vinicius de Moraes, Antonio Carlos Jobim)
7. Mystery Blues 3:55
8. Chega de Saudade (No More Blues) 3:03 (Vinicius de Moraes, Antonio Carlos Jobim)
9. Routeousness 4:50 (Les Rout)
10. Count Me In 2:26 Richard Evans)
11. Bells and Horns 4:45 (Milt Jackson)
12. Saudade de Bahia (Longing for Bahia) 4:26 (Dorival Caymmi)
13. Casa Camara 5:07 (Richard Evans)
14. Pony Express 3:20 (Warren Bernhardt)
15. Maria Ninguem (Maria Nobody) 2:57 (Carlos Lyra)
16. Toccata (from Suite Gillespiana) 4:45 (Lalo Schifrin)
17. Count Me In 3:01 (Richard Evans)

1. Cupbearers 3:32 (Tom McIntosh – Kayak Music, Inc. BMI)
2. Ally 6:48 (Tom McIntosh – Kayak Music, Inc. BMI)
3. The Sheriff 4:44 (Gil Melle – Cyclades Music, BMI)
4. With Malice Toward None 5:22 (Tom McIntosh – Kayak Music, Inc. BMI)
5. All Members 6:50 (Jimmy Heath)
6. Marilia 5:27 (Warren Benhardt – Blackwood Music, Inc. BMI)
7. Suite Port au Prince
A. Invocation to Dambala
B. Prayer
C. Papa Zimbi 10:00 (Warren Bernhardt)
8. New York 19 5:15 (John Lewis)
9. Quem Quizer Encantror O Amor
(He who wants to find love has to cry) 3:47 (Carlos Lyra)
10. The Thumper 5:28 (Jimmy Heath)
11. Count Me In 2:44 (Richard Evans)
12. Repeat 3:21 (Denny Zeitlin – Ludlow Music, Inc. BMI)
13. Lass from the Low Countrie 3:44 trad. Living Earth Music BMI)
14. Down by the Greenwood Side 5:35 (trad. Living Earth Music, BMI)
15. We Shall Overcome 3:21


Disc I
Paul Winter – alto sax
Dick Whitsell – trumpet
Les Rout – baritone sax
Warren Bernhardt –piano
Richard Evans – bass
Harold Jones – drums

Disc II
Paul Winter – alto & soprano sax
Dick Whitsell – trumpet
Jay Cameron – baritone sax
Warren Bernhardt –piano
Chuck Israels – bass
Ben Riley – drums
Cecil McBee – bass
Freddie Waits –drums on tracks 12, 14 & 15
Jeremy Steig – flute
Gene Bertoncini– guitar on track 13

For more information and complete liner notes on the tracks in this anthology, go to Paul Winter Sextet.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!