NEXT Collective Covers Pearl Jam, Jay Z & Kanye, Bon Iver and More on New Album

‘Cover Art’ features contemporary jazz musicians interpreting pop, hip-hop and R&B

Concord Jazz will release Cover Art, a new recording by NEXT Collective (featuring saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams, and special guest trumpeter Christian Scott). The album features jazz interpretations of contemporary song material by such artists as Bon Iver, Drake, N.E.R.D, Little Dragon, Pearl Jam and Jay Z and Kanye West. The album is produced by Chris Dunn and NEXT Collective. The release date is Feb. 26 and iTunes is offering a three-song preview beginning today.

Ben Williams
Jamire Williams (l.) and Christian Scott
By Giovanni Russonello

1 of 2      Next

Track listing

1. Twice (Little Dragon)

2. No Church In The Wild (Jay Z and Kanye West)

3. Africa (D’Angelo)

4. Fly Or Die (N.E.R.D)

5. Oceans (Pearl Jam)

6. Refractions In The Plastic Pulse (Stereolab)

7. Marvins Room (Drake)

8. Come Smoke My Herb (Meshell Ndegeocello)

9. Perth (Bon Iver)

10. Thank You (Dido)

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!