Four Jazz Artists Among Pew Fellowship Recipients

Philadelphia artists receive $60,000 awards

Thirteen artists from the Philadelphia area will receive $60,000 awards this year from the Pew Center for Arts & Heritage through Pew Fellowships in the Arts (PFA). Among them are four musicians associated with jazz: trombonist Daniel Blacksberg, Sun Ra Arkestra mainstay Marshall Allen, pianist/composer Matthew Mitchell and saxophonist/composer Greg Osby.

According to a press release, “The 2012 Pew Fellows, seven of whom are first-time applicants to the program, were chosen in recognition of their extraordinary artistic achievements and the potential to use the fellowship to advance their work. Each of these “no-strings attached” $60,000 fellowships are granted over a one- to two-year period.

The complete list of 2012 Pew Fellows in the Arts is:

· Deron Albright

Greg Osby
By John Abbott
Marshall Allen
By Shawn Brackbill

1 of 2      Next

· Marshall Allen
instrumentalist, composer, and bandleader

· Daniel Blacksberg
trombonist and composer

· Alex Da Corte
visual artist

· Meg Foley

· Matthew Mitchell
pianist and composer

· Dan Murphy and Anthony Smyrski
visual artists

· Greg Osby
saxophonist and composer

· Jumatatu Poe

· Catie Rosemurgy

· Kevin Varrone

· Lori Waselchuk
documentary photographer

For the complete list of 2012 Pew Fellows in the Arts and full artist descriptions, as well as lists of this year’s panelists and evaluators, visit Pew Fellowships.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!