Costello and Toussaint to Release Album

Elvis Costello and Allen Toussaint will release The River in Reverse, a new album comprised of seven tracks previously recorded by Toussaint and six new tracks written by Costello and Toussaint, June 6 on Verve Forecast.

Costello and Toussaint teamed up for a weeklong mini-tour of Hurricane Katrina benefit shows in New York City in September. As Costello and Toussaint were touring New York, Costello wrote the title track and first performed it at a benefit sponsored by The New Yorker. The two then began a collaborative writing process that resulted in six new tracks. They also rerecorded songs such as “Nearer To You,” “Freedom For The Stallion” and “Tears, Tears and More Tears” from Toussaint’s repertoire.

The songs were recorded over a two-week period last year in Hollywood and Toussaint’s hometown of New Orleans. Most of the tracks recorded during this period were recorded with Costello’s band The Imposters and Toussaint’s horn section performing in the room as Costello sang the vocals live. Tracks include:

  1. On Your Way Down

  2. Nearer To You

  3. Tears, Tears and More Tears

  4. The Sharpest Thorn

  5. Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further?

  6. The River In Reverse

  7. Freedom For The Stallion

  8. Broken Promise Land

  9. Ascension Day

  10. International Echo

  11. All These Things

  12. Wonder Woman

  13. Six-Fingered Man

Costello and Toussaint will head out on tour in support of The River in Reverse in June.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!