Previously Unreleased Mark Murphy Album Due in November

Vocalist cut the tracks in 1996

Shadows, a collection of tracks recorded by vocalist Mark Murphy in 1996 and never before released will see the light of day on Nov. 11, due from TCB, the Montreux Jazz Label.

According to an email from the label, the new release was recorded while Murphy was living and teaching in Europe. Liner notes are by Murphy's very close friend, fellow vocalist Sheila Jordan.

The personnel is as follows:

Mark Murphy, vocal
Karlheinz Miklin, saxes, flute
Fritz Pauer, piano
Ewald Oberleitner, double bass
Dusan Novakov, drums

Track listing:

1. Dawn (Murphy/Miklin) 5:58
2. If I should Lose You (Robin/Raigner) 8:40
3. Empty Room (Murphy/Pauer) 7:11
4. Next Page (Murphy/Miklin) 6:22
5. Lilac Wine (Shelton) 7:38
6. Hodnik (Murphy/Miklin/Pauer) 8:26
7. Shadows (Murphy/Pauer) 5:18
8. Humanity Ltd (Murphy) 10:34

1 Comment

  • Aug 29, 2014 at 03:38PM ChaCha

    A few years back, I heard a few of the tracks, which had been shared surreptitiously throughout the Murphy fan network. They show the singer stretching out stylistically, including on one freeform track. This proves once again that Mark never has never lazily repeated what worked for him in the past, but has always strived to grow as a creative vocal artist, even as he's grown older.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!