Drummer Otis Brown III to Release Debut Leader Album

Derrick Hodge produced; album includes Robert Glasper and others

Drummer Otis Brown III, who has served as sideman for Esperanza Spalding, Joe Lovano, Terence Blanchard, Oliver Lake, Somi and others, has announced the release of his debut album as a leader, The Thought of You. The album is due Aug. 26 from Revive/Blue Note, a new partnership between Revive Music and Blue Note Records.

Brown’s band on the recording includes pianist Robert Glasper, trumpeter Keyon Harrold, saxophonist John Ellis and bassist Ben Williams, with organist Shedrick Mitchell and guitarist Nir Felder making special appearances. Singers Bilal, Gretchen Parlato and Nikki Ross are also featured. Derrick Hodge co-produced the recording.


Otis Brown III

Track Listing

1. The Way (Truth & Life)
2. The Thought of You – Part I featuring Bilal
3. Interlude I – Truth
4. Stages of Thought
5. The Two Become One (For Paula)
6. You’re Still The One featuring Gretchen Parlato
7. The Thought of You – Part II
8. I Love You Lord/We Exalt Thee/In The Beginning featuring Nikki Ross
9. The Thought of You – Part III
10. I Am Your Song featuring Nikki Ross
11. Interlude II – Life

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!